Scares and Laughs – Life with Parrots

Students with Birds

I had a slightly alarming moment a few nights ago. Ptak, my parrotlet, was contentedly sitting on my shoulder as I wrote. I use a ballpoint pen (that fact is important) in a journal to make notes and jot down the things I need to do. As I began to write, I heard Ptak make a repetitive clicking noise deep in his chest. Anyone who’s owned birds knows that respiratory clicking is bad news.

Heart in my throat, I paused, and Ptak nonchalantly preened his wings. The clicking stopped.

I started to write again, and the clicking started anew. This went on a few times more before I realised that he was mimicking the sound my pen -specifically, the ball – against the paper! What a relief… I start, he starts; I stop, he stops – down to the millisecond. It’s pretty cute.

My parrotlet is actually a very good mimic; he has sound effects…

View original post 415 more words

One thought on “Scares and Laughs – Life with Parrots

Leave a Reply

