Bird Toys?

Do any of these items make good bird toys? It is a cat scratching post thingy. It has a packet of cat nip that you could add but obviously wouldn’t for a bird. It costs only $7.99. So can it be used as a bird chew toy?

image

I have often wondered about these. Apparently they are hooves, horns, and bones. I think the hooves and horns are make from the same things that our human nails are made from. So those can’t be too bad to chew on. As for the bones aren’t those made of calcium? Calcium is good for birds, right? I think that all these two items are okay for birds. Do you agree? If not please tell me why in the comment section.

6 thoughts on “Bird Toys?

    • Thanks. I too look beyond the bird isle. My bird loves those wood blocks with letters but they are in the small animal section. I just wonder about the horns and hooves. Could they retain harmful bacteria?

  1. Hmmm I don’t see any reason why they would be bad for birds. We didn’t get many people asking about them at the pet hospital, but I never heard the doctor I worked with talk about them being bad for birds.

    • I may need to ask some more about the hooves and horns. I worry they could somehow retain bacteria that may be harmful to bird but maybe not to dogs. Does that seem plausible?

      • Actually you are right. Hooves and pig ears are sprayed with stuff to make them tastier to dogs. That stuff is pretty nasty, so I wouldn’t use those. Those aren’t really recommended for dogs anyways, so I definitely wouldn’t give one to a bird. The antlers are more natural I think.

      • I seem to remember the nasty smell of pig ears and then the dogs nearly choked on them so I think you’re right. Bad for dogs has to be bad for birds. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

